Guerlain Rouge G in Gracia (66)

 

s1177310-main-hero

Perhaps one of most, if not the most, luxurious lipsticks around, Guerlain Rouge G lipsticks have a reputation for excellence. From the mirror packaging to the long lasting, pigmented color, I think it’s fair to say that Rouge G lipsticks are legendary.  Especially among lipstick addicts.

p236400-av-02-hero

The packaging is unique. Frequently when I pass the Guerlain Nordstrom counter, I see SAs explaining how to open their cases properly. For the Rouge Gs, you push down on the button and pull. The lipstick is released and the ‘lid’ will open and become a mirror. It’s honestly hard to find packaging this classy. Some people say this makes the lipstick too heavy, but as long as you’re not the type to put this bad boy in your pocket, I think you’ll be fine. Especially if you have a purse.

Application (10/10):

This lipstick easily and smoothly. The color was consistent and the edges sharp. The color did start to fade evenly for me at about 4.5-5 hours, with light eating and drinking from my water bottle.  I like to do two coats, but it goes on quite opaque with one.  I did re-apply after lunch (partly to use that awesome mirror, partly to touch up a bit), but I could have gone longer without.

Look (10/10):

Gracia (66) is a rose color with a hint of plum. It has a hint of sparkle. This is a great opaque color, though if you only lightly apply one layer, you may be able to sheer it out with a brush. This could be a MLBB on some, but for me, I’d call it a rose-mauve.

It has a nice shine to it, but the sparkle and shine are not so prominent that you couldn’t wear this to work. Au contraire– I believe this is a great option to wear at work. It’s conservative enough to be worn in the office, yet still brings color without feeling muted.

Feel (9/10):

This lipstick feels light, creamy and hydrating throughout the day. It doesn’t flake off, but evenly fades.

Personally, this is the most moisturizing lipstick I’ve ever used. I actually applied it to my lips while they were chapped and two days later, after wearing it both day, my lips were fine. Plump, round, smooth. I’ve never had that happen to me before and honestly, it has made this lipstick my current favorite.

My only complaint about these lipsticks is the scent. I don’t smell it when I’m wearing it, thankfully, but when applying it, it’s pretty strong. Unfavorably strong. I’m not sure what the scent is, but it vaguely reminds me of my grandmother. It’s actually strange, I don’t usually have a problem with scents, but this one just does not work. So I knocked a point off for that.

 

Swatches:

2014-08-16 15.21.15 2014-08-16 15.20.362014-08-16 15.19.38

 

Score: 9.6/10

When this color runs out, I plan to buy another one. I also might buy other colors this week and review them as well. I find the color selection to be very elegant, plenty of options to choose from!

Price:

Nordstrom $51

Sephora $51

Size: 3.5 Net WT. 0.12 OZ

This entry was posted in Guerlain, Lipstick, MLBB, Rouge G and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment